First Time DUI

Law enforcement has the right to pull over to the side of the road anyone they suspect of drinking and driving.  An officer may decide to conduct a field sobriety test on the suspected drunk driver.  The test determines if the driver can perform certain simple tasks.  If further testing indicates that the driver has a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher, the officer may make an arrest for a DUI offense.  A DUI is a criminal charge that requires defense from an experienced DUI defense attorney from The Law Offices of Paul S. Geller.  A first time DUI offender should contact a Pasadena DUI defense lawyer immediately following arrest.  We represent many clients arrested on DUI charges and have defended many first time DUI offenders.

Penalties for First Time DUI Offense

Drinking and driving is against the law in the state of California and offenders must fact prosecutors from the DMV and the criminal courts.  A factor that can determine the penalties for first time DUI charges is if a driver agreed or refused to take a blood alcohol test.  Refusal to submit to a test is an automatic license suspension for 1 year.  If a driver agrees to testing, he or she can receive a license suspension with restricted privileges for use only to drive to and from work or school.  First time DUI penalties can include:

  • 48 hours mandatory jail time
  • 3-5 years probation
  • Fines and court fees
  • 6 months drivers license suspension
  • DUI school and counseling programs

Our goal when defending first time DUI offenders is a reduced sentence or dismissed charges.  We defend all types of DUI cases including first time DUI offenses.  We know how to challenge DUI evidence presented by prosecutors for the DMV and the criminal courts.  Make an appointment today for a consultation with one of our DUI attorneys from our firm.

Contact Us Get Help Now

Facing DUI Charges In California?

(Helpful Guide to Navigate Your Case)

Free Download